Happy Birthday to Me!


Yesterday was my birthday. It was a pretty mundane day at first. Then, my husband informed me that he was quitting his night job (good thing) effective immediately and taking me and the kids to dinner. Yay!

So we went out for some not-terrible pizza (this is a big deal for us – finding not-terrible pizza around here is next to impossible). I also got some very good cheesecake to-go and then we stopped for groceries.

On the way out, the rain had finally cleared up and there was a perfect rainbow in the sky above the shopping center. It was gorgeous (and I was kicking myself again for not having my camera). It arched over the highway and seemed to end somewhere right near our house. The kids and I just stopped in the middle of the parking lot and stared at it.

And then I realized – this was my birthday present! Yeah, the rainbow, but also, finally, a feeling of peace that I’ve never had before. It was just such a literal metaphor for everything I’ve been feeling lately. The storm is finally over, brighter days ahead, yadda, yadda, yadda…

The universe had sent me this beautiful sign to remind me how much I already have.

So we got home, got the kids ready for bed and I checked facebook – only to find out that my favorite great uncle had died that day.

FUCK!!

About mecarol

A weird mom and her weird husband trying to raise their weird kids in this increasingly weird world.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

