Family Instruction


I was over at karmamatopoeia and I came across a post mentioning that, “in France homeschooling is called l’Instruction en Famille or l’IEF.”

For me, that hits it on the head. So much of what we do has nothing to do with our home or with school. So that what I’m calling it from now on:

Family Instruction (’cause I’m crap with languages)

Calling it something else also jacks people out of their preconceived stereotypes (a little).

Although we are not strictly an unschooling family, it must be said that most of what we do does not look anything like what I did in school. The emphasis is on learning how to learn. Most of my day involves reminding my kids that it is their job to examine all the evidence and decide for themselves what the facts are (and printing practice – my kids would have you convinced that this is all we do).

I really don’t like to attack traditional schools. I believe that there are millions of competent, dedicated teachers who enrich the lives of the children in their classes. Unfortunately, I am also convinced that approximately 20% of what I learned in school was total bullshit. And I don’t mean that in a, “I’ll never use calculus!” kind of way, but that it was actually, factually incorrect.

So, back to Family Instruction…

This title also gives me a job description! Because I’m uncomfortable calling myself a “teacher” (let’s face it, I didn’t pay for that education) and “homeschooling parent” just doesn’t cut it.

I am the Family In-struc-TOR.

I like it.

Also, as mentioned in the above post, it encompasses the whole family – not just the kids. Because, I’m the Instructor, sure, but I’m also learning all the time.

And the sweet lord knows my husband has a lot to learn.


About mecarol

A weird mom and her weird husband trying to raise their weird kids in this increasingly weird world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Family Instruction

  1. hahaha I love your blog. I laughed out loud!

    So glad you liked the Old School…the Momloop thing is pretty fun. My first time.

  2. I like it! I am always shocked by how awful some school districts are. Fortunately we’re in a good one but the stories my sisters tell me… wow!

    Following from Mom Loop

  3. Lindsay says:

    Thanks for stopping by my place and for adding me to your blog roll! Looking forward to reading more on your take on Family Instruction. 🙂

Leave a Reply

