Am I a Mean Girl?


Well who in the fuck said so? I’ll rip the cocksucker’s arm off and beat him to death with it.

In all seriousness, though, I’ve been thinking about this lately. Mostly because I can’t write a goddamn post without feeling guilty about offending someone or, on the other hand, feeling inauthentic.

Maybe I am just mean. I’m certainly not polite.

But that’s part of what makes this all so confusing. Most genuinely mean girls I know are polite on the surface. They are cold and calculating. And, frankly, this describes most of the women I know.

I was reading a post over at Heathen Homeschoolers that sort of addresses what I’ve been feeling lately and it really got me thinking about whether this was my problem or, y’know, your problem.

I justify my shit by pointing out it’s very in-your-faceness. If you want to know what I think just ask or just wait a minute, ’cause it’s a-comin’.

But is this sometimes vicious honesty any better than that sneaky, snarky, backstabbing female cattiness? I’m not sure anymore.

Just the fact that I feel that sneering superiority over other women should be a hint, no?

I wish the line between righteous anger and just plain rage wasn’t so thin. I wish I had the ear of the people that make a difference so I can stop feeling like I’m just bashing on innocents who either don’t know any better or don’t deserve it.

See, I wouldn’t have even thought twice about whether my anger was justified before. I am becoming a kinder, gentler version of myself. Or maybe I’m just losing my confidence.

Or my mind.

Yeah, that seems feasible.

In the meantime, I’m signing up for the Inner Mean Girl Cleanse and hoping for the best.

About mecarol

A weird mom and her weird husband trying to raise their weird kids in this increasingly weird world.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I a Mean Girl?

  1. Pingback: My New Best Friends |

Leave a Reply

