Can Trust Be Rebuilt?


Not a fun day in Weirdville.

Why in the hell would he lie?? It’s been 7 years of no lying. Why lie now? About something so stupid?

Lies are insidious. They eat away at the fabric of a relationship and the threadbare cloth cannot bear the weight of everyday life. This is the message I’ve been sending forever. There is no mistaking my stance on dishonesty.

It’s not about the outcome or the intentions: IT’S THE LIE THAT MATTERS.

Just the fact that you can lie to someone so close to you…

What the fuck do I do with this? How do I handle this?

It feels like I am overreacting. It was only one lie (about something so stupid). However, it’s always seemed to me like the rest of the world is under-reacting when it comes to dishonesty. Lying is a big deal.

Isn’t it?

And how do I trust him now? How do I go forward putting my life, dreams, family, and heart into the hands of a liar? If he’d lie about something so small, what about the big, scary stuff?

How long will it take to get over this? Will I ever, really? What is the best way to rebuild that faith I had in him until today?

If anyone out there has any advice on this I will love you forever.

Or until you lie to me. Whatevs.

At least I found something to bitch about.

About mecarol

A weird mom and her weird husband trying to raise their weird kids in this increasingly weird world.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

