Organization and Googly-Eyed Space Aliens.


My son came home from the library yesterday with a story time craft.

“Fantastic!” I said, “I love it!”

Now what do I do with it?

Currently, in our house, we have a papier mâché ming bowl laying out to dry from our studies on ancient China. Then, there is another paper-craft, glued-together dinosaur that my kids put a lot of work into last year and won’t get rid of. There are various, kid-sized musical instruments that they play with almost every day. And a set of math manipulatives that include a balance (think: the scales of justice). These are just a few examples of our special, kid-oriented organizing obstacles.

Not to mention all my husband’s crap.

Have you seen the setup for Rock Band? That has to go somewhere. I guess I’m lucky he left his actual drum set in storage for now, but this plastic one is driving me a bit mental. And that’s on top of the 57 different controllers that are needed to play the other games. And how many baseball caps does a person need? I think when you’ve outgrown a baseball cap organizer, your collection is out of hand.

I am not implying that I have nothing taking up space in my house. I have boxes full of books, a basket full of knitting supplies and projects, and cabinets full of kitchen gadgets (wow, that sentence makes me sound so domestic! I should mention my huge chest full of liquor).

Notice how all of my things include a receptacle. I don’t buy anything unless I have a place for it.

Now, I can’t blame the kids. They’re just doing kid stuff. And I’m the one who decides to make these projects (or go to story time). I’m also the one who chooses to teach them at home.

But what is the proper storage space for yarn sculpture? Or stuff made out of Crayola model magic?

Or this?

Googly-eyed Alien

About mecarol

A weird mom and her weird husband trying to raise their weird kids in this increasingly weird world.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Organization and Googly-Eyed Space Aliens.

  1. homeboys says:

    One idea might be to install “art gallery” shelving, on which you put *only* the kids art/craft projects. Make a rule that whenever something is added to the shelf, they decided what comes down to go into storage.

    You’re on your own for the husband. 😛

  2. Tammy says:

    Oh from time to time we purge. Have them watch an episode of Hoarders. That seemed to work with the budding hoarders that I have.

  3. Lori says:

    You need to do some research so you can emulate its natural habitat.

    I think, “The Field Guide to Pre-Scool Craft Creatues” will have something helpful.

  4. Cheryl says:

    I’ve had something of the opposite problem. Gabriel could barely ever be assed to do any of these little crafty things; Maris brings hers home and plays with them until they’re destroyed and have to go in the garbage.

    • mecarol says:

      See, now your lucky! Loo is still a bit lazy about the craft thing. I think that’s why he treasures the things he does finish. My other son saves everything. I have piles and piles of printer paper on which he just wrote the names of Star Wars characters…

Leave a Reply

