Best Mom in Town


Some days in Mommyland are for the birds. Those are the ones where you feel like you’ve been stranded in the middle of the ocean without a raft; you could swim for days, but you know you’ll drown eventually.

Then there are days that make you feel like you’ve won a Nobel prize. You just can’t stop patting yourself on the back for the magnificent¬†little people you have created from nothing – NOTHING! Through your own self-sacrifice and good judgment, you have reared the most perfect specimens of human life on planet Earth.

I’m having one of those days.

My kids are generally great, but today? Today they played quietly in their room for hours, stopping only once in so often to pop their adorable heads out and ask me if I wanted to see something they had built, or tell me that one of them had discovered a new homophone pair (this is actually something my kids do), or to show me something one of them had drawn.

I felt like a mom in a commercial – but one of the good commercials about juice or toddler food where the mom is relaxed and the kids are delightful. Usually I feel like I’m in a Brawny commercial or one for Drag Me to Hell.

I’m sure this self-satisfaction will pass quickly, but for now? I’m enjoying it.

I might even reward the little bastards with a movie. Who’s the best Mom in town?

About mecarol

A weird mom and her weird husband trying to raise their weird kids in this increasingly weird world.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Mom in Town

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Best Mom in Town | -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

